Deauville Partnership with Arab Countries in Transition

"Toward free, democratic and tolerant societies."

The Deauville Partnership with Arab Countries in Transition is an international effort launched by the G-8 at the Leaders Meeting in Deauville, France in 2011 to support countries in the Arab world engaged in transitions toward “free, democratic and tolerant societies.” At the Camp David Summit, G-8 Leaders recognized the important progress that has been achieved in a number of countries undergoing transition and committed to maintaining their support for these transitions in four key priority areas: stabilization, job creation, participation/governance, and integration.

The Partnership includes Canada, Egypt, the European Union, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Libya, Kuwait, Morocco, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States. It also includes international financial institutions and organizations committed to supporting reform in Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Morocco and Tunisia. The African Development Bank is the rotating chairman of the IFI platform that includes: the African Development Bank, the Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development, the Arab Monetary Fund, the European Investment Bank, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the International Finance Corporation, the International Monetary Fund, the Islamic Development Bank, the OPEC Fund for International Development, and the World Bank. There are several other organizations that have been supportive of the Deauville Partnership, including, the Arab League, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development and the United Nations organizations.

Find the Arabic translation here